Russian estate

Регистрация на портале

Позволяет определять рейтинг объектов, оставлять комментарии, добавлять фотографии, сохранять маршруты и объекты в своем личном кабинете.

x

crumbs

From Tula to Polenovo

objects

Period of availability: Whatever the season
(no votes)

You will meet many famous names from Russian history and culture in each of the estates of this route.

Description of the estate Bogucharovo:

Bogucharovo is the family estate of the Khomyakov’s. The first mention of it is in a 1664 legal book concerning transfer of land. Today the ensemble includes: the Khomyakov House (late 18th century), outbuildings (second half of 19th century), Church of the Presentation of the Lord (Sreteniya Gospodnya) (1841, designed by A. Khomyakov), and a bell tower.

Alexei Stepanovich Khomyakov (1804–1860) — Russian poet, essayist, philosopher, one of the founders of Slavophilism, corresponding member of the St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences.

Description of the estate Dvoryaninovo:

The Dvoryaninovo estate belonged to modest noble family of the Bolotovs. It was here that Andrei Timofeevich Bolotov — Russian scholar, writer and encyclopedist, the founder of Russian agricultural science — was born in 1738 and died in 1833. He wrote over 350 volumes of scientific and literary works. On Catherine II’s Bogoroditsk estate Bolotov created a park that became famous throughout Russia, one which can be compared to the beauty of the gardens of Versailles, Saint-Germain, and Marly.

After the death of the Empress Andrei Bolotov retired and settled in Dvoryaninovo in 1796. The park near his home is a unique and charming piece of nature. Even today there are trees in the park that bear Bolotov in memory. The manor house has been restored on the old foundation, and here there is a museum where visitors can go on a tour and enjoy a “Tula tea party” — herbal tea for health and longevity prepared according to Bolotov’s recipe, with Tula gingerbreads and Belevsky sweets.

Description of the estate Myshenki:

In 1907, Vsevolod Fedorovich Rudnev (1855–1913), the legendary commander of the cruiser Varyag, acquired the estate in Myshenki where he lived until his death. He is buried at the wall of the Kazan church (1770) in the village Savino. The church has been restored and is in operation.
Nikolai Vsevolodovich — the eldest son of the admiral, who returned from exile in 1958 -transferred to the regional history museum a considerable portion of his father’s personal belongings. They are now kept in a museum dedicated to Vsevolod Rudnev in Savino.

Ponds and part of the park from the estate remain in Myshenki.

Description of the estate Strakhovo:

In the second half of the18th century Strakhovo belonged to the general-in-chief, senator Peter Dmitrievich Eropkin — one of the most colorful men of Catherine’s time. The oldest house of the estate — the church of the Mother of God “Znameniye” — built in 1715 by the widow of a steward, A. Pleshcheeva. At the end of the 19th century the owners of the manor became the Abamelek-Lazarev princes, who for centuries shaped the military glory of Russia.

In 1911 Vasily Polenov (1844–1927) at his own expense and by his own design built near the church a school for peasant children which operated until 1990. In 1914 the building of the Polenov school was renovated and a Children’s Creativity Center was opened there.

The estate house, Znamenskaya church, and a small linden park remain.

Description of the estate Polenovo:

The Borok estate (now Polenovo) was conceived, designed and built in the 1890s by Vasily Dmitrievich Polenov (1844–1927), a Russian artist, composer, and educator.

According to the artist, the estate was eventually to become the first provincial public museum. Polenov built the Abbatsvo (Abbey) studio, a church in Bekhov, numerous residential buildings and outbuildings on the estate. The theme of the exhibition — the personal collection of the artist and his family.

The graves of Vasily Dmitrievich Polenov, his wife Natalia Vasilevna, and their families are located two kilometers from the estate at the walls of Trinity Church in Bekhov.

The return to Tula, 90 km.

Visitor reviews

crumbs